Election Results Update

Federal Legislation, Restaurant Industry News,

Like all of you, we are carefully monitoring the latest updates on election results, and it is not the last communication you will receive from us on this important topic—stay tuned for regular updates as the election results materialize today, tomorrow and beyond.  

Even with all of the election night tallying issues last night, the Georgia House and Senate will still be under GOP control. With at least 100 seats in the House (they had 105 going into November 3rd), there are still seven seats (5 held by the GOP and 2 held by Democrats) where the count needs to be completed. There are no new seats for the Democrats outside of metro Atlanta. House Minority Leader Bob Trammell was defeated but we do not know at this point who his successor will be. In the state Senate with the GOP holding a minimum of 33 seats, Democrats held 21, and two GOP seats are still awaiting final tabulations. 

Results will be updated as votes continue to be counted, view results HERE.

Our partners at the National Restaurant Association have provided the below state-of-play on the races and states they are watching. We will continue to provide daily updates as events unfold and as new information becomes available.


These are the key takeaways as of late Wednesday. Bottom line, whatever the outcome of the presidential election, it appears likely that the House will remain under Democratic control (with potentially Republican gains) and the Senate will remain under Republican control (with potentially Democratic gains).



The race for the White House continues to narrow. If President Trump retains his slight leads in the red to purple states of North Carolina (15 electoral votes) and Georgia (16 electoral votes), all eyes will shift to the final battlegrounds:

  • Pennsylvania (20 electoral votes),

  • Nevada (6 electoral votes). 

Vice President Biden’s safest route to 270 is to secure Michigan, which was announced just prior to publication of this newsletter, and then Nevada where a final tally is expected as soon as tomorrow. This path would not require Biden to win North Carolina or Pennsylvania.


Republicans started the cycle at a distinct disadvantage, defending 23 Senate seats, compared to 12 for Democrats. Moreover, only two Democratic seats were ever in play, whereas Republicans had to aggressively defend 12 seats, including several in blue and purple states. 
Democrats vastly outraised their challengers, and outside spending for Democrats dwarfed that for Republicans. As a result, Democrats were able to dominate the airwaves and social media. While several key races remain, one thing is clear: the hoped-for blue wave to yield a tremendous number of pickups so far has failed to materialize. Despite the outsized spending and polls showing their candidates doing well, Democrats were unable to unseat Senators Joni Ernst (IA), Lindsey Graham (SC), Steve Daines (MT), Pat Roberts (KS), John Cornyn (TX), and Mitch McConnell (KY)—all states that they had heavily targeted. 
In Alabama, Republican Tommy Tuberville defeated Democrat Doug Jones, an outcome that was expected. In Michigan, Democrat Gary Peters is locked in a tight race with Republican John James.
Democrats gained seats in Colorado, with former Governor Hickenlooper defeating Republican incumbent Senator Cory Gardner, and in Arizona, with Scott Kelly defeating Martha McSally.
So where does that leave us in terms of the Senate’s balance of power?
If Joe Biden wins, Senate Republicans must hold their remaining net losses to one seat in order to retain control. As of this writing, the following are still pending a final count:
  • Tom Tillis (R-NC) currently retains a slight lead over his opponent, Cal Cunningham.
  • Susan Collins (R-ME) is currently above 50% in the state, and state legislator Sara Gideon just moments ago conceded. 
  • Dan Sullivan is hoping to retain his seat in Alaska. While Al Gross is a formidable opponent, Sullivan should be optimistic by the current trend in red states.
  • Democrat Gary Peters remains in a tight race with Republican challenger John James.
  • Republican Senator Perdue is hoping to reach the 50% threshold in his race against Democrat Jon Ossoff. Otherwise, they will run against one another in a head-to-head special election on January 5.
  • Republican Senator Kelly Loeffler and Democrat Reverend Raphael Warnock have emerged as the top two vote getters in their race and will run against one another in a special election on January 5.
Contrary to conventional and media wisdom, it was a positive night for the House GOP. Not enough progress to win back majority control of the House, but many seats were won where victory was far from certain. With several decisions outstanding, as of this writing, the Republican candidates have officially defeated seven Democratic incumbents and only lost two seats, which were the result of redistricting in North Carolina. 
While the House GOP holds leads in several other races, there are two incumbents narrowly behind in Arizona 7 (Schweikert) and California 25 (Garcia). No GOP incumbents have officially lost. Also of note, two years after electing only one women to its freshman class, of the seats flipping the GOP, women have won six out of seven. The following is a brief tally of the races called and some of those outstanding:
  • FL-26 for Carlos Gimenez: GOP flip.
  • FL-27 for Maria Elvira Salazar: GOP flip.
  • IA-01 for Ashley Hinson: GOP flip.
  • MN-07 for Michelle Fischbach: GOP flip.
  • NM-02 for Yvette Herrell: GOP flip.
  • OK-05 for Stephanie Bice: GOP flip.
  • SC-01 for Nancy Mace: GOP flip.
  • AR-02 for French Hill: GOP hold.
  • CO-03 for Lauren Boebert: GOP hold.
  • FL-15 for Scott Franklin: GOP hold.
  • FL-18 for Brian Mast: GOP hold.
  • GA-06 for Lucy McBath: Dem hold.
  • IL-13 for Rodney Davis: GOP hold.
  • KS-02 for Jake LaTurner: GOP hold.
  • KY-06 for Andy Barr: GOP hold.
  • MI-06 for Fred Upton: GOP hold.
  • MN-03 for Dean Phillips: Dem hold.
  • MO-02 for Ann Wagner: GOP hold.
  • MT-AL for Matt Rosendale: GOP hold.
  • NC-08 for Richard Hudson: GOP hold.
  • NC-09 for Dan Bishop: GOP hold.
  • NC-11 for Madison Cawthorn: GOP hold.
  • NE-02 for Don Bacon: GOP hold.
  • NH-01 for Chris Pappas: Dem hold.
  • NJ-03 for Andy Kim: Dem hold.
  • NJ-07 for Tom Malinowski: Dem hold.
  • OH-01 for Steve Chabot: GOP hold.
  • OH-10 for Mike Turner: GOP hold.
  • OR-04 for Peter DeFazio: Dem hold.
  • TX-02 for Dan Crenshaw: GOP hold.
  • TX-03 for Van Taylor: GOP hold.
  • TX-06 for Ron Wright: GOP hold.
  • TX-07 for Lizzie Fletcher: Dem hold.
  • TX-10 for Michael McCaul: GOP hold.
  • TX-21 for Chip Roy: GOP hold.
  • TX-22 for Troy Nehls: GOP hold.
  • TX-23 for Tony Gonzales: GOP hold.
  • TX-25 for Roger Williams: GOP hold.
  • TX-31 for John Carter: GOP hold.
  • TX-32 for Colin Allred: Dem hold.
  • VA-01 for Rob Wittman: GOP hold.
  • VA-05 for Bob Good: GOP hold.