ProStart culinary students from Gwinnett win state honors

Source: Atlanta Journal-Constitution


Culinary and hospitality management teams from Meadowcreek High School won first place honors at the ProStart Competition sponsored by the Hospitality Education Foundation of Georgia.

The culinary team, coached by Chef Tanisha Mott Tucker, is comprised of students Daisy Ortiz, Evelin Lozano, Ashley Casasola, and Jennifer Reano. As members of the winning team, each student earned a $1,000 scholarship to attend Johnson & Wales Culinary School. The three senior chefs— Lozano, Reano and Ortiz—also were awarded $1,000 by the Atlanta Chapter of Les Dames D’Escoffier for their excellence in culinary leadership. 

Members of Meadowcreek’s management team also earned $1,000 scholarships for Georgia State University’s hospitality program. Coached by Chef Jay Richardson, this team is comprised of students Ramses-Amon Osbey, Dulce Chavez, Angel Idrogo and Kori Jones. 

At the HEFG ProStart State Competition, culinary teams must prepare two three-course meals within one hour on two burners without electricity or running water. Industry chefs judge them on safety and sanitation, organization, presentation and taste.

Management teams also work with an industry partner to develop a restaurant concept that includes a strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats analysis, sample menu with the cost of one recipe and two marketing strategies. Management teams roll out their restaurant concept in a trade-show style booth while answering tough questions from industry executives. 

ProStart is an industry-supported career technical education program that empowers students to achieve long-term, successful careers in the restaurant and food service sector. The HEFG administers the Georgia ProStart Program in partnership with the Georgia Restaurant Association.

Both teams now move on to the National Restaurant Association Education Foundation competition in Washington D.C. in May.