2021 Georgia General Assembly Leadership

Posted By: Daniel New State + Local Legislation,

Georgia's Legislative Session, by law, will convene Monday, January 11th under the gold dome in Atlanta.  They will be operating under very strict mask and social distancing guidelines and will be tested twice weekly.

We will be present each day while in session. We have also retained outside counsel to assist us with monitoring and guidance.

This year, Senator Gloria Butler was chosen by her colleagues to serve as Minority Leader for the Senate Democrats.  Senator Butler, from Stone Mountain, was first elected in 1998.  She previously served as the Chairwoman of the Democratic Caucus and was the first woman to lead the caucus.  Senator Butler is the second woman to lead a party caucus in either chamber after Stacey Abrams, who served as House Minority Leader and led the House Democrats from 2011 to 2017.  Senator Butler is also one of 16 electors charged with casting the state's electoral votes for President-elect Joe Biden. 

Other State Senate Democratic Leadership: 

  • Democratic Whip:  Sen. Harold Jones (D-Augusta)
  • Democratic Caucus Chair:  Sen. Elena Parent (D-Atlanta)
  • Democratic Caucus First Vice Chair:  Sen. Lester Jackson (D-Savannah)
  • Democratic Caucus Second Vice Chair:  Sen. Jen Jordan (D-Atlanta)
  • Democratic Caucus Secretary:  Sen. Nan Orrock (D-Atlanta)

Georgia House Democrats selected Representative James Beverly (D-Macon) to serve as Minority Leader for House Democrats. Representative Beverly replaces Representative Bob Trammell (D-Luthersville) who lost reelection this year.  First elected in 2011, Representative Beverly is an optometrist with private practices in Macon. He was elected as caucus chairman in 2017. 

Other State House Democratic Leadership: 

  • Democratic Whip:  Rep. David Wilkerson (D-Powder Springs)
  • Minority Caucus Chair:  Rep. Billy Mitchell (D-Stone Mountain) 
  • Minority Caucus Vice Chair:  Rep. Erica Thomas (D-Austell) 
  • Minority Caucus Secretary:  Rep. Park Cannon (D-Atlanta)
  • Minority Caucus Treasurer:  Rep. Mary Robichaux (D-Roswell)
  • Minority Caucus Deputy Whip: Debra Bazemore (D-South Fulton)


Senator Butch Miller (R-Gainesville) was again selected by his colleagues as Senate President Pro Tem.  Miller was challenged this year by State Senator Burt Jones (R-Jackson).

Other Senate Republican Leadership:

  • Majority Leader:  Sen. Mike Dugan (R-Carrollton)
  • Majority Whip:  Sen. Steve Gooch (R-Dahlonega)
  • Majority Caucus Chair:  Sen. John F. Kennedy (R-Macon)
  • Majority Caucus Vice Chair:  Sen. Larry Walker (R-Perry)
  • Majority Caucus Secretary:  Sen. Dean Burke (R-Bainbridge)


House Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) to remain Speaker after Republicans maintained majority in the House. Democrats have not been the majority in the House chamber since the early 2000s.  Democrats gained two seats of the 16 needed to take control of the House.  The full House chamber will vote on Ralston's appointment at the start of the legislative session on Monday.  He will be challenged by David Clark a republican from Buford.

Other State House Republican Caucus Leadership: 

  • Speaker Pro Tem:  Rep. Jan Jones (R-Milton)
  • Majority Leader:  Rep. Jon Burns (R-Newington)
  • Majority Whip:  Rep. Trey Kelley (R-Cedartown) 
  • Majority Caucus Chairman:  Rep. Matt Hatchett (R-Dublin) 
  • Majority Caucus Vice Chair: Micah Gravley (R-Douglasville)
  • Majority Caucus Secretary/Treasurer:  Rep. Bruce Williamson (R-Monroe)

Governor Kemp’s House and Senate Floor Leaders:

House Leaders:
Representative Dominic LaRiccia (R-169)
Representative Jodi Lott, (R-122)
Representative Bert Reeves (R-34)
Representative Josh Bonner (R-72)

Senate Leaders: 
Senator Clint Dixon (R-45)
Senator Russ Goodman (R-8)
Senator Bo Hatchett (R-50) 

This past fall, the Georgia General Assembly (GGA) updated the House & Senate web pages.  Take a few minutes to familiarize yourself with the GGA website!  With a total of 236 legislative members, Georgia's General Assembly ranks as the third largest in the US.  This year, there will be 12 new State Senators and 26 new House Representatives - 16% turnover. 

At least 12 committee chairmanships are currently open, and we will update members once those have been announced. 

Of the 56 Senators, the party representation is 34 republican and 22 democrat senators.  Of the 180 House Members, the party representation is 105 republicans and 75 democrats.